Author: Bryan Hollon

A Review of “One Bible, Many Versions,” By Dave Brunn

Brunn, Dave, One Bible, Many Versions: Are All Translations Created Equal? (Downers Grove, Ill.: IVP Academic, 2013). Pp. ii + 205. Paperback. US$16.00. ISBN 978-0-8308-2715-2. Dave Brunn, a career Bible translator with New Tribes Mission, contributes an accessible and gracious volume to the often-too-acrimonious Bible translation debate that infects some conservative evangelical churches.  He argues that most North American Bible readers are far too idealistic and Anglo-centric in their assumptions about “the best” contemporary translation, and offers detailed examples.  He calls out, gently and graciously, translation committees for using imprecise language to characterize their translation ideals.  He does all...

Read More

Review of Kapic, A Little Book for New Theologians, chapter one

Official Description: Whenever we think or hear or read or say anything about God, we are doing theology. In the tradition of Helmut Thielicke’s A Little Exercise for Young Theologians, Kelly Kapic offers a concise introduction to the study of theology. He highlights its value and importance while explaining its unique nature as a serious discipline. Not only concerned with content and method, Kapic explores the skills, attitudes and spiritual practices needed by those who take up the discipline. This brief, clear and vibrant primer draws out the relevance of theology for Christian life, worship, mission, witness and more....

Read More

Hymns vs Choruses on National Public Radio

The discussion of church music, presumed by those within the church to be of parochial interest only, received some mainstream attention on Monday, at least to the degree that public radio is mainstream (Sorry NPR, I wish it weren’t true).  This feature story and the very interesting responses to it (by both believers and non!) point to the rich and varied history of church music, together with the complexity of choices facing the contemporary church.  Click here to read the NPR transcript....

Read More

Subscribe to Blog

Subscribe to Newsletter

Subscribe for Notifications on Upcoming Events and More

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and information.

You have Successfully Subscribed!